jump to navigation

International Telecommunications Industry Standards Organizations over time April 21, 2009

Posted by HubTechInsider in Telecommunications.
Tags: ,

The following timeline details some of the important dates in the history of standards organizations:

1865 The ITU was established by 20 European states at the first International Telegraph Convention.

1923 The CCIF was established in Paris for the study of long distance telephony.

1925 The CCITT (not the ITU-T) was established for the technical study of telephony problems. The CCIF and CCITT both became part of the ITU.

1927 The CCIR was formed in Washington, with the objective of concentrating on technical issues surrounding radio communications.

1947 The ITU was recognized as an agency of the United Nations, specializing in telecommunications.

1959 The CCIF and the CCITT were combined and became known simply as the CCITT, now called the ITU-T.


No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: